When you share a property, you determine the specific information that is shared and the specific actions that can performed on the property. There are four permission levels:
Read Only Access is the ability to view all information about your property, but not to make any additions or changes. For example, the person could view your energy usage but could not make corrections or add new energy bills.
- Read Only Access does NOT come with the ability to share the property with other people (Share Forward). If you want someone to be able to "Share Forward" but have Read Only Access to your meters and other information, you can make this selection under Custom Access.
Full Access is the ability to view and edit your property. With Full Access, a person can do all of the same things you can, except delete the property. Full Access automatically comes with the ability to "Share Forward," which means the person with whom you share can also share that property with others. If you want someone to have Full Access to all the property data, but NOT be able to "Share Forward," then you need to share with Custom Access.
Custom Access allows you to select more granular permissions for each person you are sharing with.
- First, you select None, Read Only, or Full Access for each type of data (Property, Meters, Goals, Recognition). By default, all selections are set to Read Only.
- If you want someone to be able to add meter bill data, you must select Full Access for that meter.
- If you want someone to be able to add new meters, delete meters, or edit meter information, then you must select "Full Access" for Property Information.
- If you want someone to be able to edit meters that contribute to your metrics, then you must:
- Select "Full Access" for Property Information
- Select "Full Access" for all Energy meters (or all of the Water meters). For example, the contact would need Full Access to all energy meters (including all electric meters, all natural gas meters, etc.) in order to change which energy meters are used in the property's metrics.
- Choosing “None” will suppresses access to that specific tab, but annual metrics for the property are still accessible via Reporting.
- After you set permissions for viewing and editing your data, you decide whether you want to give "Share Forward" rights, meaning the ability to share the property with others.
Note that when you grant "Share Forward," the person cannot share with more permissions than they have. For example, if you select Read Only for every type of data (Property, meters, and certification) then the person can Share Forward, but can only grant Read Access, not Full Access, to your data.
Exchange Data allows you to select an organization (which is registered to use web services) to exchange data with your Portfolio Manager account. You will be able to specify specific permissions regarding whether the organization will be able to view or modify Property, Building, and Meter information. Choosing “None” will suppresses access to that specific tab, but annual metrics for the property are still accessible via Reporting. You will also decide if you want to grant "Share Forward" rights, meaning the ability to share the property with others.
Note: When sharing to exchange data, you may also be required to provide additional information to the organization so that they can process your request to exchange data with Portfolio Manager.