Search by Topic:

What are the requirements for multifamily housing to earn ENERGY STAR certification? Follow

ENERGY STAR certification for Multifamily Housing is available to properties with:

  • 20 units or more (per campus, not per building)
  • greater than 75% occupancy
  • an ENERGY STAR score of 75 or more
  • not available to townhome-only or duplex-only communities* (as long as the townhomes, duplexes, triplexes, quadplexes, etc. are less than 50% of the total units the property is eligible)

Other notes about requirements:

  • There is no minimum square footage
  • Your occupancy must be greater than 75% to be eligible for ENERGY STAR certification, but you can still get a score if your occupancy rate is 75 or lower
  • Your occupancy rate does not affect your score
  • If you have less than 20 units, you can't get a score. You will get an EUI in this case.

*A community that is made up exclusively of townhomes and/or duplexes can still benchmark as multifamily housing, but would not be eligible for ENERGY STAR certification. However, a community that includes townhomes/duplexes/triplexes/quadplexes/etc. and apartment buildings is eligible for certification as long as more than 50% of the living units are located in the apartment buildings.

Have more questions? Submit a request