Search by Topic:

What kinds of retail properties can receive ENERGY STAR certification? Follow

To receive an ENERGY STAR score and certification, a Retail Store must:

  • be a single store that is at least 5,000 square feet
  • sell consumer goods (as opposed to services)
  • have an exterior entrance to the public
  • be one of these retail property configurations:
    1. A free-standing store
    2. An individual store in an open-air or strip mall
    3. An anchor store in an enclosed mall

Retail Stores within other property types (such as a bookstore in an office building or apartment building) can get a score but cannot get certification as a retail store. In that case, the entire building has to be included for certification.

The Retail Score applies to these types of stores:

  • Department Stores
  • Discount Stores
  • Supercenters
  • Warehouse Clubs
  • Drug Stores
  • Dollar Stores
  • Home Center/Hardware Stores
  • Apparel/Specialty Stores (e.g. books, clothing, office products, toys, home goods, and electronics).

The Retail Score does NOT apply to these types of stores:

  • enclosed malls
  • individual stores located within enclosed malls
  • lifestyle centers
  • strip malls
  • individual stores that are part of a larger non-mall building (i.e. office or hotel).
Have more questions? Submit a request