Search by Topic:

Which property types are eligible for DEES? Follow

The following property types are eligible for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR (DEES) in the US (this is the same list of properties that are eligible for ENERGY STAR certification as existing buildings):

  • Bank Branch
  • Courthouse
  • Financial Office
  • Data Center (as a building itself only, not within a facility)
  • K-12 School
  • Hospital
  • Hotel
  • Multifamily Housing
  • Office
  • Retail Store
  • Senior Care Community
  • Supermarket/Grocery Store
  • Warehouse/Distribution Center
    • Distribution Center
    • Non-Refrigerated Warehouse
    • Refrigerated Warehouse
  • Wholesale Club/Super-center
  • Worship Facility

All property types may use Portfolio Manager to track their design energy. Here's a list of all the property types tracked in Portfolio Manager, if you don't have one of these, use "Other."

**Barracks, Medical Office, Residence Halls/Dormitory and Wastewater Treatment Plants are NOT eligible for DEES, however they can get a Design score.

Have more questions? Submit a request